CHILD AND FAMILY SERVICES

P.O. Box 960

Wabasca, AB T0G2K0

Phone: (780) 891-3836
Fax: (780) 891-3942

Our Vision and Our Goals

We are a team committed to family togetherness through safe, stable and nurturing approach encouraging holistic & Community Wellness

Child: to promote & provide for the child's need for safety, protection, emotional, physical, mental, and spiritual well-being.

Family: to promote & support family unity & wellness; establish & maintain a positive working rapport with families;

Community: to encourage community involvement; to educate the community about our program; to establish & maintain a positive working rapport with community involvement.

Please reload

STAFF

About Us

Bigstone Cree Social Services was incorporated on October 9, 1992.

We are governed by a seven person Board of Directors.

The Child, Youth and Family Enhancement Act is the legal authority for Bigstone Cree Nation Child and Family services. Staff are trained to incorporate this legislation when working with clientele.

Bigstone Cree Nation Child & Family Services provides services on reserves only.

What We Are About

  1. How do I become a foster parent?
    Contact a Kinship worker and request a kinship package.

  2. Do I need to be Treaty to become a foster parent?
    This is a myth, you do not have to be treaty or live on reserve to become a kinship/foster parent.

  3. When children are apprehended, where do they go?
    Children are placed into an emergency kinship homes.

  4. If someone reports me, what happens?
    An assessor will go out and investigate the home, he/she will complete and assessment and determine whether the child(ren) are safe and how we can help the family.

  5. Do you do Child & Youth Information Module (CYIM) checks?
    If you are over 18 years old and live on reserve, we can provide a CYIM check.

Please reload

Interim Director

Lena Nanooch

lena.nanooch

Case Manager

Connie Capot

connie.capot@gov.ab.ca

Family Ties Liaison

Jeanette Brertton

jeanette.brertton@gov.ab.ca

File Records/Management Clerk

Angela Auger

angela.auger@gov.ab.ca

Permancey Specialist

Alissa Laboucan

alissa.laboucan@gov.ab.ca

Case Worker

Shannon Alook 

shannon.alook@gov.ab.ca

Case Worker

Norma Gambler

norma.gambler@gov.ab.ca

Case Worker

Sirae Young

sirae.young@gov.ab.ca

Caseworker

Sherry Cardinal 

sherry.cardinal@gov.ab.ca

Family Enhancement Worker

Savannah Young 

savannah.young@gov.ab.ca

Assessment Supervisor

Rosemary Nipshank

rosemary.nipshank@gov.ab.ca

Assessor

Jane Carlson

jane.carlson

Assessor

Marina Nanemahoo

marina.nanemahoo@gov.ab.ca

Intake Worker

Carrie Okemow

carrie.okemow@gov.ab.ca

Kindship Care Advocate

Kristy Janvier

kristy.janvier@gov.ab.ca

Kindship Care Advocate

Rosemaire Dor

rosemarie.dor@gov.ab.ca

Family Support Services

Data Clerk/Reception

Tamara Gladue

tamara.gladue@gov.ab.ca

Youth Worker

Gabrielle Gladue

gabrielle.gladue@gov.ab.ca

Finance Administrator

Freda Gladue

freda.gladue@gov.ab.ca

Junior Finance Clerk

Paulette Auger 

paulette.auger@gov.ab.ca

Administration

Matilda Beauregard 

​matilda.beauregard@gov.ab.ca

Receptionist

Bernice Bigstone 

bernice.bigstone@gov.abca

Janitor

Jeanine Rathbone 

email@address.com

Maintenance

Carl Gladue Administration

email@address.com

Saftey Officer

Robert Gullion 

robert.gullion@gov.ab.ca

Please reload

Office Hours

Monday to Friday

8:30 am - 4:30 pm

Contact

Tel: 780-891-3836 

Fax: 780-891-3888
Toll Free: 1-800-268-6783