CHILD AND FAMILY SERVICES

P.O. Box 960

Wabasca, AB T0G2K0

Phone: (780) 891-3836
Fax: (780) 891-3942

Our Vision and Our Goals

We are a team committed to family togetherness through safe, stable and nurturing approach encouraging holistic & Community Wellness

Child: to promote & provide for the child's need for safety, protection, emotional, physical, mental, and spiritual well-being.

Family: to promote & support family unity & wellness; establish & maintain a positive working rapport with families;

Community: to encourage community involvement; to educate the community about our program; to establish & maintain a positive working rapport with community involvement.

Please reload

STAFF

About Us

Bigstone Cree Social Services was incorporated on October 9, 1992.

We are governed by a seven person Board of Directors.

The Child, Youth and Family Enhancement Act is the legal authority for Bigstone Cree Nation Child and Family services. Staff are trained to incorporate this legislation when working with clientele.

Bigstone Cree Nation Child & Family Services provides services on reserves only.

What We Are About

  1. How do I become a foster parent?
    Contact a Kinship worker and request a kinship package.

  2. Do I need to be Treaty to become a foster parent?
    This is a myth, you do not have to be treaty or live on reserve to become a kinship/foster parent.

  3. When children are apprehended, where do they go?
    Children are placed into an emergency kinship homes.

  4. If someone reports me, what happens?
    An assessor will go out and investigate the home, he/she will complete and assessment and determine whether the child(ren) are safe and how we can help the family.

  5. Do you do Child & Youth Information Module (CYIM) checks?
    If you are over 18 years old and live on reserve, we can provide a CYIM check.

Please reload

Director

Pasty L'Hirondelle

patsy.lhirondelle@gov.ab.ca

Casework Supervisor

Sirae Young

sirae.young@gov.ab.ca

Assessment Superivsor

Lorna Letendre

lorna.letendre@gov.ab.ca

Preventation Supevisor Calling Lake

Gloria Anderson 

gloria.anderson@gov.ab.ca

Prevention Supervisor Wabasca

Naomi Auger

Naomi.Auger@gov.ab.ca

Foster Care/Kinship Care Supervisor

Rhonda St. Cyr

Rhonda.Stcyr@gov.ab.ca

Generalist

Norma Gambler

Norma.Gambler@gov.ab.ca

Generalist

Hiliary Hamelin

Hiliary.Hamelin@gov.ab.ca

Generalist

Alissa Laboucan

Alissa.Laboucan@gov.ab.ca

Generalist

Shannon Alook

Shannon.Alook@gov.ab.ca

Generalist

Sherry Cardinal

Sherry.Cardinal@gov.ab.ca

Generalist

Savannah Young

Savannah.Young@gov.ab.ca

Generalist

Richeena Yellowknee

Richeena.Yellowknee@gov.ab.ca

Generalist

Steven Alook

Steven.Alook@gov.ab.ca

Generalist

Jeanette Brertton 

Jeanette.Brertton@gov.ab.ca

Generalist

Leanne Cardinal

Leanne.Cardinal@gov.ab.ca

Intake

Carrie Okemow

Carrie.Okemow@gov.ab.ca

Foster/Kinship Care Advocate

Rosemarie Dor

Rosemarie.Dor@gov.ab.ca

Foster/Kinship Care Advocate

Colleen M. Auger

Colleen.Auger@gov.ab.ca

Foster/Kinship Care Advocate

Karen P. Young

Karen.P.Young@gov.ab.ca

Family Support Worker

Brenda Beaver/Gladue

Brenda.Beaver@bigstone.ca

Family Support Worker

Brian Jr. Young

Brian.Young@bigstone.ca

Family Support Worker Calling Lake

Gwen Cardinal

Gwen.Cardinal@bigstone.ca

Finance Administrator

Freda Gladue

Freda.Gladue@gov.ab.ca

Finance Controller

Jennifer Alook 

Jennifer.Alook@gov.ab.ca

Junior Finance Clerk

Paulette Auger

Paulette.Auger@gov.ab.ca

Data clerk/reception

Tamara Gladue

Tamara.Gladue@gov.ab.ca

Human Resource Coordinator

Colleen Alook 

Colleen.Alook@gov.ab.ca

Executive Admin Assistant

Matilda Beauregard

Matilda.Beauregard@gov.ab.ca

Administrative Support

Angela Auger

Angela.Auger@gov.ab.ca

Reception for Calling Lake

Samantha Gladue

Samantha.Gladue@bigstone.ca

Custodian

Jeanine Rathbone 

email@address.com

Maintenance

Carl Gladue 

email@address.com

Saftey Officer

Robert Gullion 

robert.gullion@gov.ab.ca

Please reload

Office Hours

Monday to Friday

8:30 am - 4:30 pm

Contact

Tel: 780-891-3836 

Fax: 780-891-3888
Toll Free: 1-800-268-6783